5 Embroidery Artists I Love Right Now

One of my favorite things about Instagram is discovering endless sources of inspiration as I explore what boundaries I can push with my own embroidery. I am barely scratching the surface as I consider innumerable stitches to experiment with, not to mention embroidery styles, different fabrics and other substrates, and incorporating embellishments like beads, and other mixed media such as paint and colored pencil. It’s exciting to think about the possibilities of paint and thread. Clearly this is not an outdated art form as many would suppose! As I explore different techniques with my own projects, I am loving the work of these 5 artists I have discovered on Instagram, and continue to be inspired by them:

1. Jessica Patterson Pambianco aka @ladyjanelongstitches
@ladyjanelongstitches has super awesome detailed work – it’s like watching someone draw with thread. I love her use of watercolor pencils in some of her pieces and also this amazing freestyle technique she’s been using to recreate photographs. Check out her shop on Etsy here.

The work of Jessica Pambianco

The work of Jessica Pambianco

2. Liz Payne aka @lizlpayne
As soon as I stumbled across the work of @lizlpayne, I loved her mixed media approach to stitching, especially since it’s something I’ve been curious about for some time. The work that must go into some of these larger pieces she creates is mind-blowing – just check out her Etsy shop to see what I’m talking about!

Liz Payne's gorgeous embroidery

Liz Payne’s gorgeous embroidery

Work by Teresa of tee tee hee hee

Work by Teresa of tee tee hee hee

3. Teresa aka @teeteeheehee
Blurring the lines between illustration and textile design, some of my favorite work by @teeteeheehee is her Sew Wanderlust collection where she illustrates a scene from her travels in thread. Her combination of thread and paint on canvas is also a technique I’m particularly interested in.

Sew Wanderlust by Teresa of tee tee hee hee

Sew Wanderlust by Teresa of tee tee hee hee

4. Bo Betsy aka @bobetsyhandembroidery
@bobetsyhandembroidery has such a unique freeform style – I love her use of the buttonhole stitch and how she has created these gorgeous textures and colors from thread. Drool over the details here at her shop.

Bo Betsy's Embroidery

Bo Betsy’s Embroidery

5. Tiffany Kopper aka @thebigredheart
One of the things I love the most about @thebigredheart‘s work is her beautiful hand lettering and tasteful and unexpected use of embellishments such as sequins and ribbon. Explore more of her lovely work in her shop.

The work of Tiffany Kopper

The work of Tiffany Kopper

Hope you’ve enjoyed having your mind blown by these artists and their hand embroidery as much as I have! Do you know of another embroidery artist who’s doing amazing work? Share their website with me!

2 responses to “5 Embroidery Artists I Love Right Now

Leave a Reply

