Embroidering Darth Vader

My recent explorations into the realm of unexpected embroidery left me interested in new ways to use this art form, and so I’ve found myself looking around my house for fabrics and materials to experiment with. Deep in my closet I came across some very faded cotton featuring all the favorites from The Empire Strikes Back — Boba Fett, Darth Vader, Han and Chewy… Finding these wonderful Star Wars prints from the late 70s got me thinking not only about new ways to explore embroidery, but also how I could upcycle materials that would otherwise end up in the garbage by transforming them into works of art.

Darth Vader Star Wars Embroidery

Darth Vader Star Wars Embroidery

So this new challenge of mine has inspired a number of projects (which I barely have time to even start!) but here is the first for your enjoyment. I realize Darth Vader is rather different from my usual subject matter, but it was so fun to work on and brought back great childhood memories.

I’m working on a whole collection of Star Wars embroidery, and imagine these will end up in my shop at some point. Stay tuned!

One response to “Embroidering Darth Vader

Leave a Reply

