3 Awesome Artists Worth Discovering

So far 2013 has me voraciously devouring a number of art books and blogs as I seek to expose myself to new mediums, new techniques and new artists. Well, the artists may not be new, but they are new to me! Right now I’m just loving the work these three are doing, so I wanted to share them with you too!

Sarah Ahearn Bellemare
I first learned about Sarah through Stephanie Levy’s Creative Courage workshop, making a note that she both taught at Squam, and had written a book about mixed media that I was very curious about. Sarah began painting as a way to illustrate her poems, and I love the way she ties words and phrases into her art. Her work tells wonderful stories, revealing snapshots of a memory or an impression – just enough to draw the reader in to imagine the scene without giving all the details away. (Her book is awesome too, but more on that in a later post!)

Sarah Ahearn Bellemare "Strawberry Plant"

Sarah Ahearn Bellemare “strawberry plant”

Sarah Ahearn Bellemare "three things for the perfect summer"

Sarah Ahearn Bellemare “three things for the perfect summer”

Sarah Ahearn Bellemare "perching bird marked with blue"

Sarah Ahearn Bellemare “perching bird marked with blue”

Kirsty Elson Designs
In one of the Facebook groups I belong to, another artist shared the wonderful art of Kirsty Elson. I immediately fell in love with it! I adore the character of her sculptures and how each one emerges from the driftwood she finds. Her textile art and collages are pretty awesome too, but my favorites are the driftwood. (I like everything she does, and may just have to save up for my own piece!)

Kirsty Elson Designs "Snowy Hill"

Kirsty Elson Designs “Snowy Hill”

Kirsty Elson Designs "A life on the ocean wave"

Kirsty Elson Designs “A life on the ocean wave”

A special commission Kirsty Elson Designs

A special commission Kirsty Elson Designs

Mister Finch
As I started following the Kirsty Elson Designs Facebook page, I noticed Kirsty would highlight other artists local to her, and that’s where I first saw the art of Mister Finch. His exquisite textile art is so popular, he can barely keep it in his Etsy shop! I am just awed by the gorgeous detail and attention he must pour into each piece that he sews – isn’t his work amazing?

Mister Finch "Flower fox sleeping"

Mister Finch “Flower fox sleeping”

Mister Finch "Dark Grey Mushrooms Made From Vintage Textiles"

Mister Finch “Dark Grey Mushrooms Made From Vintage Textiles”

Mister Finch "Velvet Moths Forming A Star"

Mister Finch “Velvet Moths Forming A Star”

I hope you’ve enjoyed a peek at each one of these artists – I find their talent and art so inspiring as I seek to grow my own skills!

What new artists have you discovered lately? I’d love to hear!

3 responses to “3 Awesome Artists Worth Discovering

Leave a Reply

