Cranberry Sauce is Good on Everything

With the recent power outages and disruption in New Jersey caused by Hurricane Sandy, many of us found ourselves trying to creatively use our thawing food so it wouldn’t go to waste. Unfortunately like many other people I had to toss a lot, but I managed to salvage my bags of frozen cranberries. I never was a big fan of cranberry sauce as a child because I always experienced it in that strange jello-mold can shape. Ew. However, a few years ago I stumbled across some great recipes using fresh cranberries, including this super-easy homemade cranberry sauce recipe, and now I’m hooked.

Cranberry Sauce

Fresh cranberries are great because if you don’t use them, you can throw the whole bag “as is” into the freezer and they will keep for quite a while. I had two bags of frozen cranberries in my freezer, so when I lost power last week, my cranberries thawed and I decided to make some cranberry sauce so I wouldn’t lose them.

Now people think cranberry sauce is just for Thanksgiving, but that is just silly! 🙂 Cranberry sauce is good on everything! I stir a half cup into my morning oatmeal, mix it with plain Greek yogurt for lunch, and even warm it and drizzle over vanilla ice cream. Mmmmmmm. So get creative with your cranberry sauce and enjoy that vitamin C all year round! Here’s a super-easy and quick recipe I love to use.

Homemade Cranberry Sauce
yields 4-6 servings

  • 1/2 cup white sugar (According to how tart you like the sauce – I sometimes use 1/4 cup and other people use 1 cup.)
  • 1 cup of orange juice (my favorite way!) or water
  • 1 12-oz bag of fresh cranberries (if frozen, simply thaw)

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, dissolve the sugar in the orange juice or water. Stir in the cranberries, and cook until they start to pop (about 6-10 minutes). Keep an eye on the saucepan because as the sauce boils, it will want need stirring so it doesn’t overflow. (Sometimes I squoosh the cranberries as they heat up because I like popping them.) Remove from heat, and transfer to a bowl. Cranberry sauce will thicken as it cools. Eat it on everything!

Cranberry Sauce

One response to “Cranberry Sauce is Good on Everything

Leave a Reply

