Gentle Giant

Elephant Realistic Illustration

Gentle Giant – 8×10 Fine Art Print of Elephant’s Eye

One of the things I’ve discovered in the last two years (which helps keep me sane at times) is a wonderful Art Center where I can take classes to nurture myself. It’s been a great place to stretch myself professionally, learn new techniques and meet other artists!

elephant eye illustration

This illustration emerged from a colored pencil class I had taken (a new medium for me!) The study of this elephant’s eye ended up being a mixed media illustration of chalk, colored pencil and oil pastel. I also learned some new debossing techniques to create texture in the paper for the elephant’s wrinkles. Though I couldn’t part with the original, I made some limited edition giclée 8×10 prints made up which are available at my shop.

How about you? What do you do to nurture your creative muse? I’d love to hear!

Leave a Reply

