The Courage to Be Imperfect

Brené Brown

“The Power of Vulnerability” by Brené Brown – TED 2010

So I had a friend share this great video on “The Power of Vulnerability” by Brené Brown. As I listened to this video, Brené got my attention when she said courage is originally defined as telling the story of who you are with your whole heart. In other words, having the courage to be imperfect. I love this for so many reasons, firstly because as an artist, my art flows out of the telling of my own story – my hopelessly imperfect, but still precious and beautiful story. I love that I am reminded to have the courage to be imperfect, to be compassionate and kind to myself, so I can in turn, be compassionate to others. What makes me vulnerable makes me beautiful, and will allow me to experience true connection. Brené says vulnerability is the birthplace of joy, of creativity, of belonging, of love – I agree!

Leave a Reply

