How El Salvador changed me.

El Salvador Drill Team

My team in El Salvador, August 2011

It’s hard to return to “life as normal” after my well-drilling trip to El Salvador. The truth is my life will never be the same.

The sharp contrast of poverty versus the wealth and excess of my daily reality is really only the beginning. The greatest challenge to me, returning to fast-paced, East Coast living, is the truth that busyness is the poverty of my world in New Jersey. It’s a poverty of relationship, and I don’t want to be too busy to love. I don’t want to fall into the trap of self-centeredness and disengagement because I’m wrapped up in workaholism, and my small first-world problems.

painting nails

Here I paint the nails of one of the girls in the village. Regardless of culture, every woman loves to feel beautiful.

There are many new boundaries I’ll be setting around my life to preserve time for family and community. But I also want to be purposeful about loving and serving the poor. In response to this I’ve committed to sponsor a few children from El Salvador and India. And I’m opening a shop on Etsy, in part to help fund future well-drilling projects with LiquidWater.com. I want to do my part with what I’ve been given, and love well.

“Do not withhold good from those who deserve it, when it is in your power to act.”
– Proverbs 3:27

3 responses to “How El Salvador changed me.

  1. Pingback: Luis, My Inspiration | Bettina's Treehouse·

  2. Pingback: A Letter from El Salvador | Bettina's Treehouse·

  3. Pingback: A Glimpse of My Story | Bettina's Treehouse·

Leave a Reply

